Arizona’s paid sick leave law and federal requirements concerning the ongoing COVID-19 crisis are changing how all companies in the state deal with their employees. Did you know that the state’s sick leave law affects all employers, even if you only have a single employee? Do you know if your company is compliant with these state-mandated regulations? Can you handle employee requests pursuant to the law?
Read on to learn more about how your company can comply with sick leave policies in Arizona.
Ensuring Compliance with New Sick Leave Policies
In November 2016, Arizona voters approved the Proposition 206 ballot initiative, which created the Fair Wages and Healthy Families Act. The act requires all employers, no matter their size, to provide paid sick leave to their employees. It also sets a new minimum wage for all employees in the state, which (as of January 1, 2020) is $12.00 per hour.
Sick Leave Requirements
The paid sick leave requirements of the Fair Wages and Healthy Families act vary depending on the size of the employer. For companies that employ fewer than 15 employees, those employees are eligible for up to 24 hours of paid sick leave each year. For companies that employ 15 or more employees, those employees are eligible for 40 hours of paid sick leave annually.
For all employees, every 30 hours worked translates into 1 hour of paid sick leave. Employees can use this sick leave not just for their own illnesses but also to care for sick family members or deal with issues relating to domestic violence.
Any unused sick leave carries over from year to year, unless the company opts to pay its employees for any unused sick leave at the end of the year. This paid sick leave applies to both in-office and work-from-home employees.
Employees requesting paid sick leave should submit their requests in advance. These requests can be submitted via email, text message, or paper memo or mail. Employees should put procedures in place for how to handle requests of this type.
In response to the COVID-19 crisis, the U.S. Congress passed the Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA). This federal legislation went into effect on April 2nd and is effective until the end of 2020.
The FFCRA supplements all local regulations to ensure the following:
- For employees with COVID-19, 2 weeks of sick time at full pay.
- For employees caring for family members with COVID-19, 2 weeks of paid leave at 2/3 pay.
- For all employees with children affected by COVID-related school or daycare closures, an additional 10 weeks of paid leave at 2/3 pay.
Let CBR Help You Comply with Sick Leave Policy in Arizona
Based in Phoenix, Creative Business Resources has been providing HR services to Arizona businesses since 1998. We can help you comply with all state and federal employment regulations, including the Fair Wages and Healthy Families Act and the Families First Coronavirus Response Act.
Contact CBR today to learn more about how your business should comply with sick leave policies in Arizona.